MNUDL Students are MSHSL State Debate Finalists

submitted by

Minneapolis South High School debaters, Clara Conry & Annabelle Niblett, finished their run at the MSHSL State Debate Tournament in the finals. On a 4-1 decision, Archan Sen & Eric Li from Eagan High School were declared the State Champions.

Clara & Annabelle won 7 previous rounds of competition to advance to finals.

The partnership of Ezra Gearhart & Molly Reehl, also from Minneapolis South, were Quarterfinalists.

Two Saint Paul teams also advanced to Quarterfinals: Chikamso Chijioke & Samuel Skinner from Como Park Senior High School, and Cayden Mayer & Maren Lien from Central High School.

We also want to acknowledge the debaters who qualified to compete at State at Sections, some of whom were unable to compete due to COVID-19 related reasons from Roseville, Roosevelt, St Paul, Como Park, Washburn, Central HS, and South.

It hasn’t been an easy season, but our students handled the challenges with flexibility and determination. This year’s topic was water resources, and we know they learned a lot. Please send your congratulations to these schools for their accomplishments at State!

Find the full results at our blog: