MFA Summer Residency – Readings and Screenings

submitted by

The MFA in Creative Writing 2018 Summer Residency will begin on Thursday, July 19 through Sunday, July 29. Please join us in welcoming our group of very talented students and acclaimed writers to campus for this festival of craft talks, workshops, evening readings and more. This summer’s visiting writers include Katelynn Hibbard, winner of the Howling Bird Press Poetry Award; fiction writer Ted Thompson; creative nonfiction writer Kao Kalia Yang, screenwriter Wenonah Wilms; and playwright Andrew Rosendorf.

In addition, nine graduating MFA students will be giving public readings of their works: Monica Birrenkott, Allyson Dwyer, Michael Ferraro, Gina Musto, Ciara Hall, Roz Perry, Ryan Purdy, Eric Rasmussen and Robby Steltz.

We invite you to join us for the evening readings/screenings and receptions from Thursday, July 19 through Friday, July 27, at which our visiting writers will be available to sign their works. All are free and open to the public and will be held at 7 p.m. in Sateren Auditorium unless specified otherwise.

Thursday, July 19 – Graduating Writers
Monica Birrenkott, Poetry
Robby Steltz, Playwriting
Ciara Hall, Poetry
Gina Musto, Playwriting
Michael X. Ferraro, Fiction

Friday, July 20
Visiting Creative Nonfiction Writer Kao Kalia Yang

Sunday, July 22
Howling Bird Press Book
Poetry Prize Winner
Katelynn Hibbard
Book Launch Party

Monday, July 23
Visiting Playwright Andrew Rosendorf
(held in Foss Center Theater )

Tuesday, July 24
Visiting Playwright Harrison Rivers

Thursday, July 26
Film Screening of “Waabooz” with
Visiting Screenwriter Wenonah Wilms

Friday, July 27 – Graduating Writers
Eric Rasmussen, Fiction
Allyson Dwyer, Playwriting
Ryan L. Purdy, Fiction
Rosalind Mariah Perry, Poetry
(starting at 7:30 p.m., Sateren Auditorium)