MFA in Creative Writing

submitted by

The MFA in Creative Writing 2018 Summer Residency will begin on Thursday, July 19 through Sunday, July 29. Please join us in welcoming our group of very talented students and acclaimed writers to campus for this festival of craft talks, workshops, evening readings and more.

This summer’s visiting writers include Katelynn Hibbard, winner of the Howling Bird Press Poetry Award; fiction writer Ted Thompson; creative nonfiction writer Kao Kalia Yang, screenwriter Wenonah Wilms, and playwright Andrew Rosendorf.

In addition, nine graduating MFA students will be giving public readings of their works: Monica Birrenkott, Allyson Dwyer, Michael Ferraro, Gina Musto, Ciara Hall, Roz Perry, Ryan Purdy, Eric Rasmussen and Robby Steltz.

We invite you to join us for the following readings/screenings/discussions and receptions, at which our visiting writers will be available to sign their works. Free and open to the public.

Thursday, July 26 at 7:00 p.m. in Sateren Auditorium
Visiting Fiction Writer Ted Thompson

Friday, July 27 at 5:00 p.m. in Hagfors 150
Celebration of Heid Erdrich’s anthology NEW POETS OF NATIVE NATIONS with Graywolf Press

Friday, July 27 at 7:30 p.m. in Sateren Auditorium
Thesis Reading from Graduating Writers
Eric Rasmussen, Fiction
Allyson Dwyer, Playwriting
Ryan L. Purdy, Fiction
Rosalind Mariah Perry, Poetry

Saturday, July 28 at 3:30 p.m. in Hagfors 150
Panel: INAPPROPRIATE: A Talk About Cultural Appropriation with Sun Yung Shin, Rhiana Yazzie, and A. Rafael Johnson, moderated by Heid E. Erdrich